Halal translates from Arabic to “allowed” or “approved”. For Muslims, it is for example forbidden to consume pork and its by-products as well as intoxicants (alcohol). Muslims can also not eat animals that have not been slaughtered in the proper religiously approved way. People do however not only consume nutrients orally, but also through the skin. For Muslims, it is therefore necessary that cosmetic production is carried out without these „forbidden“ raw materials and that the production sites and machines are uncontaminated.

What exactly does that mean?

• Only verifiable HALAL-compliant ingredients are to be used in the product
• HALAL-compliant ingredients are not to come in contact with non-compliant raw materials
• HALAL-compliant semi-finished products are not to come in contact with non-compliant semi-finished products
• HALAL-compliant finished products are not to come in contact with non-compliant finished products
• Neither in the raw material storage nor by the manufacturing may a cross contamination take place
• Cleaning agents and other additives are not to imperil the HALAL-status
• All products must be traceable

When you look at the INCIs of FAIR SQUARED products, you will for example by some products come to see cetostearyl alcohol as an ingredient. This is a fatty alcohol that acts as an emulator and that makes the skin silky and smooth. It is plant based and is unlike ethanol HALAL. It is difficult for Muslims living in Europe to find HALAL cosmetic products. But we are here for you.